Beginners guide to Melrose Sevens

Beginners guide to Melrose Sevens

The 2018 Melrose 7’s is on Saturday 14th April and is in its 135th year.

Melrose 7’s, is a well renowned world class rugby event, a big social event which attracts over 12,000 people.

Melrose 7’s is the oldest rugby sevens competition in the world, dating back to 1883.

Rugby 7’s was invented by apprentice butcher Ned Haig from Sanderson Butchers in Melrose, Haig came up with the idea as a way of raising funds to keep the small Borders club afloat.

The Greenyards is the name of Melrose Rugby Club’s home ground and where Melrose 7’s is played every April which has traditionally been on the 2nd Saturday in April since 1883.

Hawick RFC have won the tournament the most times, being crowned champions 28 times, however it has been over 50 years since they last won.

This year’s tournament features 24 teams, two of them international teams – the Polish National team and from the US, Tiger Rugby. All the other teams are from Scotland.

The 24th team place was filled by The University of Edinburgh, winning the Rotary International in the Great Britain & Ireland Melrose University Sevens on the 1st April.

Each team has 7 players on the rugby field at any one time. Playing time is two halves of 7 minutes. The final is two halves of 10 minutes. There is a half time break of 2 minutes.

The first tie (match) will kick off at 11.30am and the final starts at 6.20pm and finishes at 7pm.

The scoring system is 5 points for a try, 3 points for a drop goal and 2 points for a post-try conversion.

If coming from Edinburgh, or further afield, you can get the train from Edinburgh Waverley with shuttle buses running from Tweedbank Railway Station to Melrose throughout the day. Although Melrose is within walking distance (15-20 minutes).

Melrose town centre is next to the Greenyards, and the town boasts a wide selection of independent retail shops – just in case you want to do a spot of shopping throughout the day!

There are food stalls in the grounds and in the town of Melrose.

Teams competing this year are:

  • Aberdeen Grammar Rugby
  • Ayr Rugby Club
  • Boroughmuir Rugby
  • Currie RFC
  • Dundee High Rugby
  • The Edinburgh Academical FC
  • Galashiels RFC
  • GHA Rugby Club
  • Glasgow Hawks
  • Hawick Rugby Club
  • Heriot’s Rugby Club
  • Jed-Forest RFC
  • Kelso RFC
  • Marr
  • Melrose RFC
  • Peebles RFC
  • SelkirkRFC
  • Stirling County RFC
  • The University of Edinburgh
  • Watsonians Rugby Club
  • Cartha Queens Park RFC
  • Crusaders, Guest side
  • Tiger Rugby
  • Rugby Poland


The 2018 Draw

Currie v Glasgow Hawks (winners v Jedforest)

Cartha v Boroughmuir (winners v Melrose)

Heriots v Edinburgh Uni (winners v Edinburgh Accies)

Peebles v Dundee (winners v USA Tigers)

Kelso v Marr (winners v Poland)

GHA v Gala (winners v Ayr)

Hawick v Aberdeen (winners v Crusaders)

Selkirk v Stirling County (winners v Watsonians)


For further detail on Melrose 7’s including purchasing tickets in advance see the website.

Burts Hotel Logo


Tel: +44 (0)1896 822285   |   Email:


Read the Good Hotel Guide reviewGood Pub Guide Scotland Dining Pub 2018