A Feast of Rugby

A Feast of Rugby

As keen rugby fans ourselves, this time of year provides an absolute feast of rugby so we thought we would give you a quick round up of the home matches which will be taking place this season at the Greenyards.

Melrose Rugby were also successful in bidding to become one of six clubs to compete in the first semi-professional league in Scotland called the Super6.

The tournament, commencing in November 2019, will see the Melrose side, the Southern Knights, compete against five other clubs from across Scotland.

  • Ayrshire Bulls
  • Boroughmuir Bears
  • Heriots Rugby
  • Watsonians
  • Stirling County
  • Southern Knights

MELROSE HOME FIXTURES

Saturday 5th October – Melrose vs Ayr

Saturday 2nd November – Melrose vs Stirling County

Saturday 16th November – Melrose vs Highland

Saturday 7th December – Melrose vs Heriot’s

Saturday 21st December – Melrose vs Boroughmuir

Saturday 18th January – Melrose vs Dundee HSFP

Saturday 15th February – Melrose vs Biggar

Saturday 7th March – Melrose vs Cartha Queens Park

Saturday 28th March – Melrose vs Gala

SUPER 6 LEAGUE – SOUTHERN KNIGHTS HOME FIXTURES

Saturday 9th November – Southern Knights vs Watsonians

Saturday 23rd November – Southern Knights vs Ayrshire Bulls

Saturday 7th December – Southern Knights vs Heriot’s Rugby

Sunday 19th January – Southern Knights vs Boroughmuir Bears

Sunday 16th February – Southern Knights vs Stirling County

SIX NATIONS

With some mouth-watering matches to look forward to in the Rugby World Cup in Japan this Autumn, Scotland’s home matches in the Six Nations early next year are the next chance to see the national team compete on home soil, and both matches are sure to be a sell-out. You could plan ahead and use the Borders Railway to combine the England or France game at Murrayfield with a lovely break here at Burts and Townhouse. After the game just jump on the train at Waverley and you can be back in Tweedbank in under an hour.

Scotland v England
Saturday 8 February
Murrayfield

Scotland v France
Saturday 8 March
Murrayfield

A perfect match

If you are planning on coming to enjoy the rugby in Melrose, do give us a call to book a table for lunch, dinner or you could even make the make the most of it with an overnight stay.

Burts Hotel Logo

MELROSE   SCOTTISH BORDERS   TD6 9PL

Tel: +44 (0)1896 822285   |   Email: enquiries@burtshotel.co.uk

 

Read the Good Hotel Guide reviewGood Pub Guide Scotland Dining Pub 2018